Bruce Springsteen releases soul covers album in November

The boss gets the chance to do what he always wanted to do.

Bruce Springsteen has announced that his next album will be a collection of soul music covers that pay homage to the old school. Titled “Only the Strong Survive,” the project will be released November 11 on Columbia Records.

On the 15-track opus, the 73-year-old Rock & Roll Hall of Famer will add his stamp to songs previously performed by Aretha Franklin, Diana Ross & The Supremes, The Temptations, Four Tops, The Commodores, Jerry Butler and transgenders . pioneer Jackie Shane (“Any Other Way”), among others. The full track list is below.

He recorded the album at his own Thrill Hill recording studio in New Jersey with the E Street Horns, producer Ron Aniello and backing vocalists Soozie Tyrell, Lisa Lowell, Michelle Moore, Curtis King Jr., Dennis Collins and Fonzi Thornton (who performed on Luther Vandross’ greatest hits).

The album features guest vocals from Sam Moore of “Soul Man” fame.

“I wanted to make an album where I just sing. And what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the 60s and 70s? I was inspired by Levi Stubbs, David Ruffin, Jimmy Ruffin, Iceman Jerry Butler, Diana Ross, Dobie Gray and Scott Walker, among many others,” Springsteen said.

“I have tried to do justice to them all — and to the fabulous authors of this glorious music. My goal is for modern audiences to feel its beauty and joy, as I have since I first heard it.

“Only the Strong Survive” was the title of a chart-topping song recorded by Butler in 1968. It was also the name of a powerful 2002 documentary helmed by “Showbiz 411” columnist Roger Friedman, which paid tribute to the stars of R&B and soul music. heyday from the late 1950s to the early 1970s.

Along with the album announcement on Thursday, a Thom Zimny-directed music video for Springsteen’s cover of Frank Wilson’s “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)” was also released.

“Only the Strong Survive” follows Springsteen’s 2020 album “Letter to You.”

It’s also the first collection of covers from the “Born In the USA” crooner since the April 2006 “We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions,” a collection of folk songs made famous by Pete Seeger.

Fans can expect to see Springsteen on tour early next year in North America and Europe.

Only the Strong Survive tracklist:

1. “Only the fittest survive” (Jerry Butler)

2. “Soul Days” achievement. Sam MooreDobie Gray

3. “Nightshift” (The Commodores)

4. “Do I love you (indeed, I love you)” (Frank Wilson)

5. “The Sun Shall Shine No More” (The Walker Brothers)

6. “Turn the hands of time back” (Tyrone Davis)

7. “When She Was My Daughter” (The Four Peaks)

8. “Hey, Western Union man” (Jerry Butler)

9. “I Wish It Rained” (The Temptations)

10. “Don’t Play That Song” (Aretha Franklin)

11. “Any Other Way” (Jackie Shane)

12. “I forgot to be your lover” feat. Sam MooreWilliam Bell

13. “7 Dark Pieces” (The Four Peaks)

14. “What Happens to Broken Hearts” (Jimmy Ruffin)

15. “One day we’ll be together” (Diana Ross and The Supremes)