Heartbeat legend Ann Wilson unveils new solo album Fierce Bliss – Up News Info

Heart’s Ann Wilson has shared the new single, “Greed,” from her upcoming solo album “Fierce Bliss.”

The 71-year-old rock legend – who shot to fame as the lead singer of ‘Barracuda’ alongside her younger sister Nancy Wilson, 67, in the mid-1970s – is back with the fiery new anthem, which she wrote out of anger.

Speaking of the track, she said, “‘Greed’ is that thing in our animal nature that makes us crave MORE.

“Whether it’s money, sex, power or ecstasy, it triggers our craving!” It happens with all of us. When you turn around and catch yourself making decisions because you want money or because you’re caught in the headlights of fame, well, those are greedy times.

Ann added: “I think people who claim to have made every decision from a root of pure idealism, and never done anything dark or greedy, are lying. I think anyone who venture into the music industry in particular hoping for a career with great success, ends up doing these Faustian bargains at some point, even if only briefly. It’s an aggressive song and I think I write better when I’m angry.

Along with new songs, the musician recorded a cover of the Queen classic “Love of My Life” with country star Vince Gill and “Forget Her” by Jeff Buckley. Warren Hayes of Gov’t Mule also contributed.

On how the LP came about, Ann explained, “I originally intended to come in, record a few songs and see what I had, but it just took this life.

“I had known Warren Haynes from Gov’t Mule for a while. We had written a few songs with Gov’t Mule, and those completed the record. So all of a sudden, where there was no record before, I suddenly had 11 cool songs that I really liked.

Reflecting on continuing to make music into her 70s, Ann added, “I think for someone who’s been through as much as I have and lived to tell stories, it’s OK to share my experiences. .

“I also heard from a lot of young musicians and listeners who thanked me for sticking around and staying up, for being successful, for making the concessions once but not twice, and for being able to Live it all with dignity.”

Ann’s latest album was 2018’s “Immortal,” a covers record paying homage to her influences.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Famer will hit the road for the “An Evening with Ann Wilson of Heart and The Amazing Dawg’s” U.S. tour later this month, kicking off Feb. 19 at Family Gras in Metairie, Los Angeles.

“Fierce Bliss” premieres April 29.

Visit annwilson.com/tour for full tour dates and tickets.

Ann Wilson “Fierce Bliss” Tracklist:

1. “Greed”

2. “Blackwing”

3. “Bridge of Sighs”

4. “Fight for Life”

5. “Love of My Life” (with Vince Gill)

6. “The Missionary Man”

7. “Gladiator”

8. “Forget Her”

9. “A moment in paradise”

10. “The Angel Blues”

11. “As the World Turns”